Oh yum..so as I’m blogging I’m making a HUGE pot of French Onion soup!  So excited but boy does my kitchen smell of onions!!!  Before I forget, here is the recipe (of course…from Jamie)…

French Onion Soup

Ingredients
1/4 cup sweet cream butter
8 cups sliced yellow onions
2 cans (14-ounce size) beef broth
3/4 cup chicken broth
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cup water
1 tablespoon ketchup
1 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
couple drops Tabasco sauce

 
***Garnish***
croutons
shaved Asiago cheese ( I used mozzerella instead of asiago)

Melt butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. When the butter is melted, add sliced onions and saute for 15 to 20 minutes, stirring often, until onions turn brown.

Add remaining ingredients (but not the garnish) to the pan and stir to combine. Heat soup until it’s boiling, then reduce heat and simmer uncovered for 20 minutes.

Make croutons for the top of the soup by slicing foccacia bread (I used a french baguette) into 3/4-inch thick slices. Butter both sides of those slices. ( I also sprinkled one side with a little garlic salt)

Bake the bread in a 425 degrees F oven for 15 minutes or until crispy.

Serve the soup super hot with a few peices of bread floating on top followed by mozzerella or Asiago cheese.

So I am also soooo excited because

The Joy of Love

starts in 2 days!!!  To find out more go to http://www.willettedesigns.com/.  Its a FREE one of her classes that is like Finding the Joy…which I have been dying to take.  Super excited about this free one.  I know my Creative Cohort Debbie is doing it with me and I THINK Jamie might be joining in on the fun!!!  Can’t wait!!!

Had a super great weekend with my boys and will try to (after this great pot of french onion is done) to add some pictures of them around the house.  We played tball, football (though Brax is afraid to catch it) and even pushed our little brother around in his walker (I’m sure he was terrified).  All in all….great weekend…and we will end on a good note of the Joy of Love and a bowl of soup!!!

